Home  Riverside Developmental Disabilities Home Page   Email Riverside Developmental Disabilities
Riverside Developmental Disabilities Facebook Page  
Riverside Developmental Disabilities Miami County Ohio

Provider Training

In collaboration with The Academy for Direct Support Professionals (DSPs), the Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities (Riverside) is offering the following classes FREE of charge. All classes will be held in the Training Room at Riverside (located at 1625 Troy Sidney Road, Troy).

In the event of a Riverside closure, training will be cancelled. Should this occur, you will be notified in the following ways: One Call Now, Facebook, and/or WHIOTV and WDTN.

Classes through The Academy: The following classes will be instructed by The Academy for Direct Support Professionals. To register for a class, please visit their website at www.academcy4dsp.com/classes. You can also click on one of the training dates below to register for that class specifically. If you have any questions or need assistance with registration, please contact Tricia Ettinger at (513) 237-2449 or info@academy4dsp.com.

After registering, agency and independent providers must email an affidavit to the trainer, Kendall Ferrill, at kendallferrill@gmail.com at least two (2) business days before class. Agencies must also email skills checks to Kendall at least two (2) business days before class for any staff taking the Category 1 renewal class.

2019 Training Schedule - Classes through The Academy

Training

Scheduled Dates


CPR Training
10:30 am - 1:00 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Monday, January 14
Monday, February 11
Monday, March 11
Monday, April 8
Monday, May 13
Monday, June 10
Monday, July 8
Monday, August 12
Monday, September 9
Tuesday, October 15
Tuesday, November 12
Monday, December 9
First Aid Training
1:30 - 4:00 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
Monday, January 14
Monday, February 11
Monday, March 11
Monday, April 8
Monday, May 13
Monday, June 10
Monday, July 8
Monday, August 12
Monday, September 9
Tuesday, October 15
Tuesday, November 12
Monday, December 9

Initial & Annual Provider Certification
10:00 am - 6:30 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Tuesday, January 15
Tuesday, March 12
Tuesday, May 14
Tuesday, July 9
Tuesday, September 10
Tuesday, November 13

Initial & Annual
ADS/Vocational Habilitation
10:00 am - 6:30 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Tuesday, February 12
Tuesday, April 9
Tuesday, June 11
Tuesday, August 13
Wednesday, October 16
Tuesday, December 10

Medication Administration
Category 1, initial 2-day class
9:00 am - 6:00 pm both days
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Saturday & Sunday, February 2 & 3
Saturday & Sunday, May 18 & 19
Saturday & Sunday, August 10 & 11
Saturday & Sunday, November 2 & 3
 
Medication Administration
Category 1, renewal class*
2:30 - 5:00 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Saturday, March 9
Saturday, April 6
Saturday, July 20
Saturday, September 7
 
Medication Administration
Category 2 (G/J Tubes), initial class
9:00 am - 2:00 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Saturday, March 9
Saturday, July 20
 
Medication Administration
Category 3 (Insulin), initial class
9:00 am - 2:00 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Saturday, April 6
Saturday, September 7

*The Category 1 renewal class includes a skills check for independent providers. Agencies must conduct skills checks for their staff.

Classes through the Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities (Riverside): The following classes will be instructed by Riverside staff. To register, please contact Nikki Angle at (937) 440-3063 or nikki.angle@riversidedd.org.

2019 Training Schedule - Classes through Riverside


MUI/UI Rule, Individual Rights,
and Health & Welfare Alerts
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Wednesday, March 20
Wednesday, June 19
Wednesday, September 18
Wednesday, December 18
 
Initial CPI Certification
8:00 am - 2:30 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Wednesday & Thursday, January 9 & 10
Wednesday & Thursday, March 6 & 7
Wednesday & Thursday, May 8 & 9
Wednesday & Thursday, July 10 & 11
Wednesday & Thursday, September 11 & 12
Wednesday & Thursday, November 6 & 7
 
CPI Recertification
8:00 am - 12:30 pm
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373
 
Tuesday, January 8
Tuesday, March 5
Tuesday, May 7
Tuesday, July 23
Tuesday, September 17
Tuesday, November 19
 
SSA & Provider Combined Trainings
10:00 - 11:00 am
Training Room
Miami County Board of Developmental Disabilities
(Riverside)
1625 Troy Sidney Road
Troy, Ohio 45373


 

Tuesday, January 22 
MUI New Rule Updates
Tuesday, February 26
Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) Updates
Tuesday, March 26
Rule Review: Vocational Habilitation,
Adult Day Supports, Employment and others
Tuesday, April 23
Community Connections Navigation
Tuesday, May 28
Health Care Coordination
Tuesday, June 25
Topic TBD
July 
No Training